About the Certified Internal Auditor Exam

About the CIA Examination



The Board of Regents of The Institute of Internal Auditors (IIA) is responsible for the overall development and administration of the Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) Examination. The IIA’s Director of Certification and staff are responsible for the preparation, testing, and grading of the CIA Examination.

The purpose of the examination is to measure the technical competence and knowledge of the CIA candidate. The examination also measures the candidate’s knowledge of disciplines related to and affecting the practice of internal auditing. Candidates must be able to apply and organize their knowledge in a logical manner as well as communicate their conclusions clearly and concisely.

Examination guidelines and content descriptions (e.g., the topic coverage, including percentages plus the difficulty level of each part) are outlined in The IIA publication entitled Certified Internal Auditor Program Information for Candidates. Every candidate should read this publication. To order a copy, call The Institute of Internal Auditors at 407-937-1100 or visit The IIA website.

Examination Questions

The Three Part CIA Examination is divided into the following three sections:

  • Part 1 – Internal Audit Basics: 125 questions | 2.5 Hours (150 minutes)
  • Part 2 – Internal Audit Practice: 100 questions | 2.0 Hours (120 minutes)
  • Part 3 – Internal Audit Knowledge Elements: 100 questions | 2.0 Hours (120 minutes)


The ExamMatrix CIA Exam Review is based on this subject outline and the associated percentage of the total test score for each part.


Examination Dates & Schedule

The CIA Examination is now being offered at Pearson VUE testing centers. Most Pearson VUE test centers are open five or six days a week and offer daily time slots for the exam. You may schedule the exam online or by phone. To schedule for the computer-based exam, go to www.pearsonvue.com/iia for online or phone registration. Candidates may sit for one or more parts at a time.

The Passing Score

Each CIA Exam Section is graded on a scaled score of 25-750, with a score of 600 being required to pass.  Objective questions are mechanically graded and must be answered correctly to receive credit. Comments and/or calculations pertaining to the answer are not considered.

Leave a Reply